Skip to Content

How To Get A Drone License In Alaska [DO YOU NEED ONE?]

How To Get A Drone License In Alaska [DO YOU NEED ONE?]

The Alaska State Legislature enacted drone laws that relate to the overall state of Alaska. Alaska has a plethora of options for drone pilots, from majestic mountain peaks to vast swaths of grassland and shoreline; there is enough breathtaking scenery to take in. However, before you fly a drone in Alaska, you need to be informed of the drone rules.

To get a drone license in Alaska, you must be either 16 years or above, be able to write, read, understand, and speak English. You will have to obtain an FAA tracking identification, take the knowledge test, and pass it. Then, complete the FAA form and receive your drone license. 

A single state-wide statute governs the use of drones in Alaska; this regulation restricts how law enforcement agencies utilize drones in their investigations. Also, how and if they can store photographs and videos acquired by a drone are discussed.

welcome to alaska

How To Get A Drone License In Alaska?

You can operate for labor or business using a tiny drone that weighs less than 0.55 pounds if you obey the Drone Laws in the United States, as specified by FAA Part 107 standards. Commercial drone activities are permitted in Alaska via FAA Part 107. The relevant state authorities may require additional licenses, licensing, or clearance procedures.

Ensure you know what is permitted and not in the Part 107 rules. To obtain your drone license, you should be 16 years old and capable of reading, writing, speaking, and understanding English. You must also be physically and mentally fit to operate a drone safely. Examine the whole procedure for obtaining your drone license.

Review the FAA's Test Preparation resources to prepare for the written exam. Create an Integrated Airman Certification and Rating Application account to acquire an FAA tracking identification number before applying for the knowledge exam. Make appointments to write the exam at a Knowledge Testing Center.

Some of the areas you will be tested on during the knowledge test are airspace classification, UAS operations, operational requirements, airspace classification, flight restrictions, radio communication procedures, aviation weather sources, UAS loading/performance, weather effects on UAS operations, and preflight inspection/maintenance operations, amongst others.

After completing and passing the knowledge test, use the digital FAA Rating Application to fill out the FAA form and receive your drone license or remote pilot certificate. Applying for a drone license is not difficult, and you will first receive a temporary drone license before the permanent license.

Drone License Alaska Cost

The cost of obtaining a drone license is the same across the entire states in the United States of America. It costs only $5 to register your drone in Alaska and $175 to take the aeronautical knowledge examination. All payments will be made via the Federal Aviation Administration website.

Some people prefer to register at a drone school for drone training before sitting for the knowledge test. Some drone schools charge about $300 and above for training; you will learn how to operate a drone, drone laws, and everything needed for the test. You need to know that the fee for the drone school does not cover the cost of your drone registration and license.

Drone Registration Alaska

Before flying your drone in Alaska, you must register it with the FAA and securely attach the drone registration plate to your drone. Any drones weighing greater than 0.55 pounds but less than 0.55 pounds must be licensed and labeled with a registration number, whether online or through the traditional paper-based registration method.

By law, all drone operators who want to register their drone must have a certificate of registration, either printed or electronic. You would be required to provide your name, email address, home address, and drone serial number if available during the registration process.

Drone registration is separated into three categories, registration as a hobbyist, a commercial pilot, and a government employee. It costs only $5 to register a drone in Alaska, and you are required to have a credit/debit card, as well as the make and model of your drone.

To register your drone, you need to log in to the website of the Federal Aviation Administration. If you have an account, you will proceed to the registration; otherwise, you need to create an account. Select the Fly sUAS under the Part 107 option for the registration. After you have registered, you will receive a registration number.

Drone Laws Alaska

The state of Alaska has created no laws to regulate the operations of drones commercially and recreationally. The only drone laws enforced are the federal laws created by the Federal Aviation Administration. The only drone laws in Alaska are for law enforcement.

The drone law in Alaska regulates the operations of law enforcement drones; how and when they can save videos and images captured by the drone. Since there are no state drone laws in Alaska, we will look at the federal drone laws regulating the operations of commercial and recreational drones.

If you want to fly your drone recreationally, these are the laws regulating the operations;

  • You are required to take and pass the Recreational UAS Safety Test.
  • Your drone must be registered with the Federal Aviation Administration.
  • You must fly your drone for only recreation, nothing for commercial or professional operations.
  • You must fly your drone within a visual line of sight.
  • Your drone must weigh less than 0.55 pounds, except it is certified by a community-based organization.
  • All your drone operations must be away from planes and other manned aircraft.
  • It is prohibited to operate a drone at night without installing adequate lighting.
  • You must avoid flying your drone close to emergency response activities.
  • You must only fly your drone in the Class G airspace (unregulated airspace), 500 feet from the ground.
  • It is prohibited to fly a drone under the influence of drugs or alcohol.

If you want to fly your drone commercially (as a side job, professionally, or to make money), these are the drone laws you must comply with;

  • You must register your drone with the Federal Aviation Administration.
  • You are required to fly your drone in the Class G airspace.
  • You must never fly a drone from a moving vehicle except if operating in a sparsely populated area.
  • You must obtain an FAA-issued Remote Pilot Certification before flying a drone commercially.
  • You must not fly your drone at a speed that exceeds 100 mph.
  • You must not interfere with manned aircraft operations, and you must always give way to manned aircraft.
  • Your drone must be marked with the registration number you receive after registering it.
  • You must obtain a permit before operating a drone commercially in any park.
  • You must not operate a drone while under the influence of alcohol or drugs.

drone alaska ice

Alaska Drone Laws Over Private Property

There are no laws regulating drone flight over private property in Alaska. Although there are no state or federal drone laws over private property, you can get prosecuted if you violate any other laws. Drone laws like operating in the Class G airspace and flying only registered drones are enforced.

So, while you are free to fly your drone over private property, you need to ensure you are not violating any drone laws. Also, you must not violate any privacy laws, nor should you trespass or cause a nuisance with your drone. The property owner can file a criminal or civil complaint against you.

Also read: How To Get A Drone License In Arkansas [ANSWERED]

Final Thoughts

One of the safest and most important things to do before engaging in any activity is to learn all the rules and regulations guiding that activity. You can conduct all activities safely and lawfully with knowledge of the rules. There are severe consequences for violating any drone law.

More like this: