Skip to Content

How To Get A Drone License In Colorado [DO YOU NEED ONE?]

How To Get A Drone License In Colorado [DO YOU NEED ONE?]

Drones provide amusement and perspective that no other technology can match, from taking images and movies to races and daily pleasure. Drone pilots, both amateurs and pros, have fun operating their drones everywhere. However, if you want to profit from using a drone, you require an FAA drone license.

To get a drone license in Colorado, you will have to register, schedule, and sit for an FAA knowledge examination that you must pass by a minimum score of 70-percent. Within 10 days, you will receive your license. 

According to rules and local authority flight restrictions, drones are legal in Colorado for both commercial and recreational purposes. Several laws and regulations guide the operation of drones in Colorado that all drone pilots must obey.

big sign coloradoHow To Get A Drone License In Colorado?

A drone license is part of the FAA's newly issued drone flight guidelines designed to increase airspace protection. You must get a drone license if you are not going to fly a drone for recreation purposes. Part 107 of the FAA laws mandates the use of drone licenses.

It is necessary that a drone pilot meet a few requirements, be verified by the Transportation Security Administration, and pass the knowledge exam to obtain a drone license. This establishes a basic degree of expertise for every drone pilot and guarantees that they are fully aware of Part 107 legal requirements.

The FAA will be able to verify these commercial drone operators and assist them in gathering data to make informed judgments. You must first obtain an FAA Tracking Number, a special identification number provided to all pilots, before registering for the knowledge test. This will be linked with you for the rest of your flying career.

Drone License Colorado Cost

Those interested in obtaining a drone license will need to complete a few processes, pay a few extra bucks, and wait two months. You can take the examination at either of the wells over 700 FAA-approved testing sites around the United States. The Computer Assisted Testing Service is in charge of administering the test.

A non-refundable exam fee of $160 is required; to ace the examination, you must correctly answer a minimum of 70-percent of the questions. All items are chosen at random from a much broader range of questions, guaranteeing that each set is distinct. After receiving a certificate, there are no extra costs, and you can renew the license every two years.

Getting a drone license allows you to show people that you understand what you are doing and how to do it correctly. Due to the newness of the technology, property owners, curious onlookers, and even local police officers may be uninformed of the limitations.

Drone Registration Colorado

Whether you are a leisure or commercial drone pilot, you must register your drone. If a drone, including any payload, weighs 0.55 pounds or more, this law applies to you if you are flying for enjoyment. However, irrespective of the mass of a drone, this restriction applies to commercial drone pilots.

Purchasing a drone for commercial use can occur before or after obtaining a drone license, but it must still be registered with the FAA. This is undoubtedly one of the most straightforward and inexpensive ways to begin your professional career as a drone operator. The FAA DroneZone website is where you can register.

Establish an account, fill out your personal information, describe your drone in detail, and deposit the $5 registration charge. Hobby drone pilots can use one registration detail to register several drones. On the other hand, commercial drone pilots will have to register each of their drones separately, obtaining a separate registration number and paying the $5 registration cost for everyone.

Then, in a way that is immediately evident upon visual examination, you must label your drone with its appropriate registration plates. This enables the drones to be traced back to their operators in the event of an accident or if they are used for illegal purposes. This may be done easily with permanent ink or some decals.

Drone Laws Colorado

Drones have attracted a growing amount of attention in recent years. Drones come in various shapes and sizes, and several people find compelling reasons to indulge in them. Some people use drones as a pastime or to pass the time. However, several norms and regulations must be followed to avoid problems with federal legislation. Below are some of the drone laws in Colorado.

  • If you want to operate a drone as a commercial pilot in Colorado, you must comply with the FAA's Part 107 Small Drone Rule, which entails completing the FAA's Aeronautical Written Test to receive a Drone license.
  • Any drone flying within 250 feet vertically or 500 feet horizontally of vital sites is prohibited. These sites include courthouses, hospitals, water treatment facilities, military complexes, and oil and gas facilities.
  • Drone activities that interfere with firefighting, law enforcement agencies, or other manned aircraft operations, or act recklessly enough to risk another person's property or life, are illegal.
  • Any drone weighing above 0.55 pounds must be registered with the Federal Aviation Administration before being operated anywhere.
  • Suppose you want to operate a drone as a commercial pilot in Arizona. In that case, you must comply with the FAA's Part 107 Small Drone Rule, which entails completing the FAA's Aeronautical Written Test to receive a Drone license.
  • It is illegal to fly a drone over any city property, including public buildings, trails, streets, and public parks.
  • It is illegal to operate a drone under the influence of marijuana, alcohol, and other controlled substances.
  • It is illegal to fly a drone that deliberately causes the killing of an animal or bird while in flight.
  • All commercial drone pilots should stay clear of any airport when operating their drone.
  • All recreational drones must be operated with a co-located visual observer or within a visual line of sight.
  • It is illegal to fly a drone within an open space and mountain parks or managed property unless you have a special permit.
  • Drones are not permitted to loiter or photograph near or over a vital site on purpose.
  • As a commercial drone operator, you must obtain a film permit before flying a drone inside any state park.
  • It is illegal to use a drone to search, detect, or scout for wildlife for hunting.
  • All drone pilots are required to possess written consent from the Colorado Spring Parks before flying their drone in any park within that area.

drone work engineerColorado Drone Laws Over Private Property

In Colorado, flying a drone over private property is generally permitted by the Federal Aviation Administration. The FAA is in charge of controlling the airspace above all properties. However, the state law in Colorado only allows you to freely fly a drone anywhere over or on your private property.

When it regards the private property of another individual, you must collect a written approval allowing the operation of drones over their property. It is illegal for you to fly a drone over another person's private property without permission or approval from the owner. Violating this law is punishable by the law.

Keep reading: How To Get A Drone License In Delaware [DO YOU NEED ONE?]

Final Thoughts

One of the most major improvements in the drone community in recent years has been the establishment of the drone license. It was, for the most part, a positive change. The skills and knowledge of commercial drone pilots were improved as a result of the knowledge exam requirement, which was very advantageous, especially in terms of airspace security. Also, as a drone pilot, it is necessary that you adhere to all drone laws in Colorado to avoid getting any penalties or having your drone confiscated.

Also read: