Skip to Content

How To Get A Drone License In Connecticut [DO YOU NEED ONE?]

How To Get A Drone License In Connecticut [DO YOU NEED ONE?]

If you have ever visited Connecticut, you are aware that it has some fantastic coastal towns and a plethora of attractive rural communities as you travel farther inside. It is an excellent place to operate drones because of the lovely beaches and spectacular woodlands. However, before you do so, there are a few things you need to know.

You need a drone license to operate a drone in Connecticut commercially. To obtain a drone license in Connecticut, you must register, schedule, sit, and pass an FAA knowledge exam with a minimum score of 70-percent. A background check will be performed on you before you get the license. 

In Connecticut, there are several laws enforced by the state legislature and the FAA on the operation of drones that every drone pilot must obey. Failure to abide by these laws and regulations has a consequence regardless of whether you are aware of the laws.

sign connecticut blue and redHow To Get A Drone License In Connecticut

Drone licenses are part of the FAA's recently announced drone flight standards intended to improve airspace safety. If you are not flying a drone for recreational purposes, you must obtain a drone license. Drone licenses are required under FAA regulations under Part 107.

Make sure you understand what the Part 107 rules allow and do not allow. To receive a drone license, you must be 16 years old, capable of understanding, writing, reading, and speaking English, and in good mental and physical health. As soon as you are prepared to receive your drone license, you should obtain an FFA tracking number.

You must create an Integrated Airman Certification and Rating Application Profile to get the number. Then, you will be required to take an aeronautical knowledge exam and excel in it. The test includes questions about airspace classification, limitations and flight operation, drone laws, emergency procedures, and flight restrictions.

After completing and passing the test, you will be given a 17-digit identification number which you must keep. You will have to return to the Integrated Airman Certification and Rating Application Profile website and complete the form to obtain your license. Submit your application, and if you pass the process, you will receive an email with your license.

Drone License Connecticut Cost

Drone pilots interested in getting a drone license will have to go through a few steps, pay a small fee, and wait two months. You can take the test at an FAA-approved testing location across the United States. The Computer Assisted Testing Service administers the test.

After receiving your drone license, you must register your drone every 36 months and have the registration card with you whenever you fly. Every 24 months, you must recertify your drone license by passing an aviation knowledge test. Upon request, the license must always be available to any FAA agent.

An FAA-approved testing center should be used to complete the Part 107 exam. The testing fee is $175 and must be paid directly to the testing center where your exam is scheduled. The initial costs of becoming a commercial drone pilot are rather low; after receiving a certificate, there are no extra costs.

Drone Registration Connecticut

It does not matter if you are a hobby or commercial drone pilot; registering a drone is a necessary and mandatory action. Every drone weighing above 0.55 pounds and below 55 pounds must be registered with the FAA before operation. Purchasing a drone for commercial use can occur before or after obtaining a drone license, but it must still be registered with the FAA.

The FAA DroneZone website is where you can register. Registrants must provide their full name, email address, home address, and the manufacturer, serial number, and model of each drone they wish to fly. You can use the registration number with several drones once you have been properly registered.

The drone registration fee is $5, and it lasts for three years; you will have to have a debit or credit card and the model and brand of your drone to register. Go to their website to register your drone and create a new account with the FAA. After registering your drone, you will receive a registration number or plate.

Your drone must be labeled with the necessary registration plates. In an accident or if they are used for illicit purposes, the drones can be traced back to their operators. Permanent ink or decals can be used to accomplish this.

Drone Laws Connecticut

The operation of a drone in Connecticut is governed by the FAA, the federal body in charge of drone safety. However, the Connecticut legislature has, in turn, adopted several extra restrictions on drone operations in the state. Below are the drone laws in Connecticut.

  • Any drone flying within 250 feet vertically or 500 feet horizontally of vital sites is prohibited. These sites include courthouses, hospitals, water treatment facilities, military complexes, and oil and gas facilities.
  • Any drone weighing above 0.55 pounds must be registered with the Federal Aviation Administration.
  • All recreational and commercial drone pilots should stay clear of any airport when operating their drones.
  • The law prevents Connecticut towns from controlling drones; however, it does permit towns that are also water companies to establish ordinances that limit or restrict the operation or use of drones over their public land and water supply.
  • Suppose you want to operate a drone as a commercial pilot in Connecticut. In that case, you must comply with the FAA's Part 107 Small Drone Rule, which entails completing the FAA's Aeronautical Written Test to receive a Drone license.
  • It is highly illegal to operate a drone in any Connecticut state forests, parks, and other places under the jurisdiction of the Department Of Energy and Environment Protection's Control without legal permission in the form of a special use license.
  • It is prohibited to use a drone to disturb wildlife or scare them.
  • Engaging in activities that produce noise that interferes with other park visitors' right to enjoy a tour in any state forest or park is banned.
  • Drones are not permitted to loiter or photograph near or over a vital site on purpose.
  • Drone activities that interfere with firefighting, law enforcement agencies, and other manned aircraft operations are illegal.
  • All recreational drones must be operated with a co-located visual observer or within a visual line of sight.
  • It is illegal to fly a drone under the influence of alcohol or drugs.
  • Every recreation drone operator should write The Recreational UAS Safety Test and always fly with the proof of the test.
  • Without authorization, it is prohibited to take images of or electronically obtain information about essential public infrastructure.

drone sunset shadowConnecticut Drone Laws Over Private Property

The real estate market expands with drone videography and photography and special effects like simulating views from a bird's eye view. Aerial photography may be beautiful and abstract at times, providing great photos. It is normal for a hobby drone pilot to want to explore with his drone.

In general, flying a drone over private property is permissible if the operation follows all FAA and state flight laws and the drone is flown outside. However, in Connecticut, you can only fly your drone over a private property when you have written permission from the property owner; otherwise, it is an illegal act.

Keep reading: How To Get A Drone License In Louisiana [DO YOU NEED ONE?]

Final Thoughts

One of the most important pieces of information a drone pilot must have is the laws and regulations guiding drone operations. You should know the general and state laws to avoid violating them. Connecticut is very strict with its laws; if you are a commercial drone operator, it is paramount that you obtain a drone license. There are several schools and institutions available for you to enroll in to study for the knowledge test required to get a drone license.

Also read: