The myriad laws limiting what drone owners and pilots can do are among the most significant roadblocks to widespread drone adoption. The Federal Aviation Administration in the United States has enacted various regulations that have hampered the expansion of the drone sector. Every state in the US also has its rules and regulations.
In Maine, a drone license is only needed if you use drones for commercial purposes. Pass the FAA-approved Aeronautical Knowledge Exam, then apply for and receive a drone license based on a small UAS rating. You will be subjected to a background check by the Transportation Security Administration.
The FAA has separate standards for recreational and commercial drone use. Recreational drone restrictions are more liberal in certain aspects than commercial drone laws, although a line of sight is still crucial.
How To Get A Drone License In Maine
On June 21, 2016, the FAA issued new regulations for small unmanned aircraft systems. Part 107 of the new rules creates a new drone certification regime for most low commercial drone flying operations. You must be able to understand, write, read, and speak English to obtain a drone license in Maine.
First and foremost, you will have passed the aeronautical knowledge examination; obtain an FAA tracking number. With this number, create an account on the FAA testing website and select a convenient FAA testing location. Next, schedule an exam date and time that is convenient for you. Bring any government-issued identification cards you may have to the exam.
As if you were applying for a private pilot's license, you will be escorted into an examination room. Cameras will monitor you to ensure that you do not break any rules. When you finish, you will immediately know if you passed or failed the exam. To pass the test and get your drone license, you will need a 70-percent score.
Then, through a small UAS rating, apply for and get a Remote Pilot Certificate. Before acquiring your drone license, the Transportation Security Administration will conduct a background check on you, which you must pass.
Passing the FAA Part 107 test and earning a drone license can be time-consuming and challenging, especially if you have no prior experience. It is a lot easier than most people believe. Commercial drone pilots with an FAA Part 107 certification will know what plane and chopper pilots are doing in the area.
The purpose of the drone licensing exam, on the other hand, is to ensure that you have a firm grasp on the fundamentals in case something goes wrong, your smartphone breaks down, or you need to double-check your current airspace.
Drone License Maine Cost
Maine is a beautiful state with some amazing views that would be great to capture on film with a drone, but like every state, there are certain restrictions on where a drone can be used. One of the benefits of having a drone license is the ability to operate a drone commercially.
You can fly your drone confidently and without fear of being captured or detained by authorities if you obtain a drone license. You could also fly across class G airspace legally and safely. With a drone license, you can fly a drone within 5 miles of an airport if you get permission from air traffic control.
The Part 107 exam will set you back $175. After acquiring a certificate, there are no additional costs, and you can upgrade your license for free every 24 calendar months. Only CATS receives the money, which is used to reimburse them for the use of their equipment, testing goods, and operating costs.
The funds do not go to the Federal Aviation Administration. Drone pilots have received over a thousand Part 107 licenses from the FAA. The 'Small UAS Rule,' also known as Part 107, is the legal framework that governs commercial drones operating above airspace.
Drone Registration Maine
Drones weighing 0.55 pounds must be registered with the FAA before being operated in Maine. Federal law requires every drone user who has registered their drone to show their registration certificate to any municipal or state law enforcement officer who asks for it. You can display it in print or electronically; to register, you can use either the internet or paper registration methods.
The FAA DroneZone website is where you can register. If you wish to register your drone as a Part 107 pilot, you will have to pay a $5 registration fee. You must give your full name, mailing address, email address, and the model and manufacturer of your drone when creating an account on the website.
You will be given a unique registration number after making your payment. If you wish to use more than one drone for business, you must repeat the process and pay the registration price each time. You do not need to register your drone if it is only used for enjoyment and weighs less than 0.55 pounds.
Drone Laws Maine
The FAA, the federal organization in charge of drone safety in the United States, regulates drone operations in Maine. Furthermore, the Maine legislature has passed several extra restrictions on drone activities in the state. Drones are legal in Maine for commercial and recreational purposes; below are the drone laws in Maine.
- To employ drones, Maine national authorities must first obtain specific authority. If these agencies want to deploy drones for investigations, they will need a warrant.
- Drones are not allowed in Maine Historic Sites, DACF Boat Launches, or State Parks unless they are accompanied by law enforcement or have a Special Activity Permit.
- Any drone flying within 250 feet vertically or 500 feet horizontally of vital sites is prohibited. These sites include courthouses, hospitals, water treatment facilities, military complexes, and oil and gas facilities.
- The Federal Aviation Administration requires that all drone pilots receive valid certification. To qualify for this certification, you must complete a knowledge examination.
- Drone pilots cannot operate their aircraft at night unless they follow proper safety protocols.
- Drone pilots are only expected to fly in designated airspaces like Class G.
- Every drone that weighs more than 0.55 pounds must be registered with the FAA before operating anywhere in Maine.
- Drone pilots are not permitted to fly their aircraft over individuals in various public spaces.
- Commercial drone pilots also need to be licensed as remote aircraft pilots. They must pass the FAA's Aeronautical Knowledge Exam to receive certification.
- Drone pilots are not permitted to surpass a speed of 100 miles per hour.
- It is important for the drone pilot to check that they are not impaired by drugs, alcohol, pharmaceuticals, or other substances that could affect their ability to handle a drone properly.
- Drones are prohibited from flying within a specific mile area of an airport.
Maine Drone Laws Over Private Property
Drones are prohibited from being flown over private property in Maine. It is extremely criminal to fly a drone in a way that violates another person's privacy. So, even though no one controls the airspace except the FAA, you cannot just fly your drone over private property.
In general, if the operation follows all FAA and state flying laws and the flight takes place outside, you can fly a drone above private property. Before flying your drone over private property, you must first obtain permission from the owner.
Also read: How To Get A Drone License In Maryland
Maine is one of the states in the United States with spectacular views and amazing scenery. Flying a drone in this state is exciting, especially for a hobby drone pilot. However, there are drone laws that drone pilots are expected to comply with; it is necessary that as a drone pilot, you adhere to these laws. Violating any of these laws will attract punishments like fines and jail terms.
Shawn Manaher loves to play with new toys and dive into new hobbies. As a serial entrepreneur, work definitely comes first but there is always room for hobbies.