Maryland is a stunning state to fly over. Its numerous canals and coastlines along the Atlantic Ocean and the Chesapeake Bay provide spectacular views you will never forget. Using a drone to capture these views is a great way to keep memories; however, there are laws guiding drone operations that you must be aware of.
To get a drone license in Maryland, you must be 16 years and above, be fluent in English and be in the right mental and physical state to pilot a drone. All you need to do is register and write the Aeronautical Knowledge Exam. You must pass the exam with a minimum of 70-percent to get the license.
Before you begin piloting or operating a drone in Maryland, you should ensure you know the latest municipal, state, and federal drone regulations. You should also know how to register a drone and obtain a drone license if necessary.
How To Get A Drone License In Maryland
On June 21, 2016, the FAA issued new regulations for small unmanned aircraft systems. Part 107 of the new rules creates a new drone certification regime for most low commercial drone flying operations. All commercial drone operators in Maryland must have a drone license.
It is not difficult to obtain a drone license; nevertheless, you must be 16 years old. You must also speak English, meet basic mental and physical standards for drone pilots, and pass an FAA exam. Passing the FAA Part 107 test and earning your commercial drone pilot license can seem difficult and time-consuming, especially if you have no prior experience.
In reality, it is a lot simpler than most people think. According to the FAA drone license, commercial drone operators must have a rudimentary understanding of what aircraft and chopper pilots do in the vicinity. The first step in obtaining a drone license is to obtain an FAA tracking number, often known as an FTN.
However, you must create an IACRA Profile to obtain the number. With this number, create an account on the FAA testing website and select a convenient FAA testing location. Next, schedule an exam date and time that is convenient for you.
Bring any government-issued identification cards you may have to the exam. As if you were applying for a private pilot's license, you will be escorted into an examination room. Cameras will monitor you to ensure you do not break any rules; when you are finished, you will know if you passed or failed the exam right away.
To pass the test, you will need a 70-percent score; after completing the test, you will be given a 17-digit identification number, which you must save. Return to the Integrated Airman Certification and Rating Application Profile website and complete the form to acquire your license. You will receive an email containing your license after submitting your application.
Drone License Maryland Cost
The FAA Aeronautical Knowledge Exam is regularly given at around 800 testing facilities across the United States. Drone pilots are usually advised to schedule their examinations at least one week in advance. The bulk of testing centers are small, and while demand is not strong, it is the kind of thing you will want to plan ahead of time.
One of the benefits of having a drone license is the ability to operate a drone commercially. You can fly your drone confidently and without fear of being captured or detained by authorities if you obtain a drone license. You would also be allowed to fly across class G airspace legally and safely.
The charge for taking the aeronautical knowledge examination is $175, which is paid to the testing center rather than the FAA. You must pay the money when you want to register for the exam. Your payment will not be refunded if you do not take the exam or if you fail it.
There are no further expenses when you purchase a certificate, and you can upgrade your license for free every 24 calendar months. The money is only given to CATS, and it is used to reimburse them for the use of their equipment, testing supplies, and operating expenses.
Drone Registration Maryland
Whether you are a commercial drone pilot or just flying for fun, you must register your drone and publish the registration number. Aside from that, if you take off outdoors, you must have your registration documents on you as proof. Furthermore, the FAA states that if the drone weighs more than 55 pounds, it must be registered, and a serial number must be attached.
Drones weighing less than 55 pounds, on the other hand, are just required to be registered. If you wish to register your drone as a Part 107 pilot, you will have to pay a $5 registration fee. You must give your full name, mailing address, email address, and the model and manufacturer of your drone when creating an account on the website.
You will be given a unique registration number after making your payment. If you wish to use more than one drone for business, you will have to repeat the process and pay the registration price each time. You do not need to register your drone if it is only used for enjoyment and weighs less than 0.55 pounds.
You should also keep the certificate of registration for your drone with you at all times. The registration certificate must be renewed before it expires after three years. If you do not renew your drone registration before it expires, you will be charged a $5 late fee for each month you do not renew it. To renew your drone's registration, go to the FAA drone zone website and fill out the application form according to the instructions.
Drone Laws Maryland
The FAA oversees drone operations in Maryland, the federal organization in charge of drone safety in the United States. Moreover, the Maryland state legislature has passed extra drone-related rules. Drones are legal in Maryland for commercial and recreational purposes; below are the drone laws in Maryland.
- If you want to pilot a drone for fun, you must first complete the Recreational UAS Safety Test administered by the Federal Aviation Administration.
- Drones are not permitted to be flown in any Maryland State Parks or National Parks.
- Every drone pilot that wants to fly a drone around airports or in controlled airspace must obtain a Low Altitude Authorization and Notification Capability authorization.
- A drone weighing over 0.55 pounds must be registered and attached with an FAA registration number before commencing flight.
- You cannot fly a drone in Class B, C, D, and E airspace; you can only fly in the uncontrolled airspace (Class G).
- You should avoid operating a drone near any manned aircraft.
- Your drone operations must not interfere with emergency response efforts.
- You can only operate a drone at night with adequate lighting.
- You must fly your drone at or below 100 mph.
Maryland Drone Laws Over Private Property
It is not prohibited to operate a drone over private property in Maryland; there are no laws regulating the operation of drones over private property. The airspace above 400 feet is regulated by the FAA but not below 400 feet, so you are free to fly your drone.
Understanding the laws and regulations that guide any activity you want to engage in is essential. It is the only way you can act safely and lawfully. Are you contemplating flying your drone in Maryland to take some nice pictures of the aerial view? It would be best if you learned the drone laws first.
Similar post: How To Get A Drone License In Maine [DO YOU NEED ONE?]
Shawn Manaher loves to play with new toys and dive into new hobbies. As a serial entrepreneur, work definitely comes first but there is always room for hobbies.