Skip to Content

How To Get A Drone License In Mississippi [DO YOU NEED ONE?]

How To Get A Drone License In Mississippi [DO YOU NEED ONE?]

Mississippi has no shortage of beautiful scenery; the state of Mississippi is brimming with breathtaking sights and locations. Drones flying over state parks, rivers, and other landscapes, on the other hand, are subject to severe regulations. Knowing these laws and regulations is necessary before piloting a drone in Mississippi.

To fly a drone commercially in Mississippi, you will need a drone license. You must register, schedule, sit for, and pass an FAA knowledge exam with a minimum score of 70-percent to receive a drone license in Mississippi. Before you acquire the license, you will be subjected to a background check.

The FAA, the federal organization in charge of drone safety in the United States, regulates drone operations in Mississippi. Additionally, the Mississippi State legislature has passed several rules relevant to drone activities.

license men with droneHow To Get A Drone License In Mississippi

Drone permits are part of the FAA's recently released drone flight guidelines to increase airspace safety. You must obtain a drone license if you are not operating a drone for recreational purposes. Drone licenses are required by FAA regulations.

Drone pilots can operate in various fields, including freelance filmmaking, aerial surveying, real estate photography, and other scenarios where a chopper would be too costly or unsafe. Make sure you know what the Part 107 rules permit and prohibit. You must be 16 years old, capable of understanding, writing, reading, and speaking English, and in good mental and physical health to obtain a drone license.

You should obtain an FFA tracking number as soon as you are ready to receive your drone license. First, you must construct an Integrated Airman Certification and Rating Application Profile to obtain the number. After that, you will be required to pass an aeronautical knowledge exam.

Questions on airspace classification, constraints, and flight operations, as well as drone regulations, emergency procedures, and flight restrictions, are included in the test. You will be given a 17-digit identification number after passing the test, which you must preserve. To get your license, you must return to the Integrated Airman Certification and Rating Application Profile website and complete the form.

After submitting your application, you will receive an email with your license if you pass the process. To pass the test, you must get a total score of at least 70-percent. The exam takes 2 hours to complete, and you must have a national picture ID, such as a passport or driver's license, to register for it.

Drone License Mississippi Cost

Having a drone license is exciting, and while the rest of the world continues to dabble with outmoded technology, drones are poised to become the next big thing. The best aspect about earning a drone pilot license is that it allows you to earn money. Despite its legal repercussions, the remote pilot license has grown in popularity among businesses.

You must hold a drone license to work as a commercial drone pilot. You must write and pass a knowledge exam to obtain a drone license. The Part 107 exam will set you back $175. After acquiring a certificate, there are no additional costs, and you can upgrade your license for free every 24 calendar months.

Only CATS receives the money, which is used to reimburse them for the use of their equipment, testing goods, and operating costs. The fees do not go to the Federal Aviation Administration.

Drone Registration Mississippi

If you are 13 years old or older and own a drone, you must register it. Registrants must provide their full name, email address, and mailing address, as well as the brand, serial number, and model of each drone they want to fly. You will need to go to the FAA's drone website to register.

After login into the website, select the option to register a drone and click continue. Then fill out all the required information and pay the $5 registration fee. You can pay the registration fee using a credit card or PayPal; once you have paid, you should print the registration certificate.

If you wish to use more than one drone for business, you will have to repeat the process and pay the registration price each time. You do not need to register your drone if it is only used for enjoyment and weighs less than 0.55 pounds. You should also keep the certificate of registration for your drone with you at all times.

The registration certificate must be renewed before it expires after three years. If you do not renew your drone registration before it expires, you will be charged a $5 late fee for each month you do not renew it. To renew your drone's registration, go to the FAA drone zone website and fill out the application form according to the instructions.

You will receive a registration number that you may use to identify your drone after completing this procedure. It should have a registration number to verify that the drone is legal and certified. This number must be visible on the drone and at least half an inch long in numerals or letters.

Drone Laws Mississippi

In recent years, dozens of drones have been registered across Mississippi, making it a popular sport. Today, we will go over all you need to know about drone legislation in Mississippi, including federal, state, and local rules. A range of state and local restrictions govern where you can fly your drone in Mississippi; below are some of them.

  • Before piloting a drone, every recreational drone pilot must write the free Recreational UAS Safety Test.
  • Any drone flying within 250 feet vertically or 500 feet horizontally of vital sites is prohibited. These sites include courthouses, hospitals, water treatment facilities, military complexes, and oil and gas facilities.
  • Every drone operator should fly their drone within visual contact every time they operate a drone.
  • It is highly illegal to fly a drone while under the influence of alcohol or drugs.
  • Every drone operation must be done under the appropriate weather condition.
  • All recreational and commercial drone pilots should stay clear of any airport when operating their drones.
  • Without authorization, taking images of or electronically obtaining information about essential public infrastructure is prohibited.
  • Every recreation drone operator should write The Recreational UAS Safety Test and always fly with the proof of the test.
  • All drone pilots, both commercial and recreational, are required to register their drones with the FAA before operating them.
  • The drone's top speed must be less than 100 mph.
  • It is illegal to fly a drone that deliberately causes the killing of an animal.

mississippi map routeMississippi Drone Laws Over Private Property

Using a drone to engage in "peeping tom" operations is now illegal. This includes photographing or filming someone in an area where they expect privacy with a drone equipped with a voice recording device or camera. This law applies to both private and public areas.

The law makes it legal for property owners to own and control the airspace over their lands, which is in direct opposition to the FAA's initial airspace regulation. The measure also authorizes certain parties to lease highways and rivers for exclusive use.

Drones are prohibited from flying over private property in Mississippi, especially for snooping or unwanted filming. If it is an emergency, you will need official permission from the property owner or the FAA. Trespassing is a felony in Mississippi, and you can be prosecuted for it.

Also read: How To Get A Drone License In Nevada

Final Thoughts

Mississippi is a lovely place to photograph nature in all of its glory. The limitations, on the other hand, can overwhelm you. If you are unaware of the regulations, you are in much trouble. The laws are constantly changing, and it is critical to stay on top of them and obey them to ensure your safety and the protection of others.

More like this: How To Get A Drone License In Missouri [DO YOU NEED ONE?]