It is simple to see why Nevada draws several travelers who want to use a drone to take pictures and videos. Cities with opulence, fantastic desserts, serene lakes, and unique destinations. Before doing anything more, you should look into Nevada's present drone laws, whether you plan to use a drone for leisure or commercially.
Drone pilots who would like to operate for commercial purposes in Nevada must first obtain a state license. Applicants must be 18 years old or older to obtain a commercial license, but there is an assessment that pilots must undertake to determine if they are fit to become a commercial drone pilot.
If you are exploring Las Vegas and want to take some amazing images and movies by piloting a drone across the city, you should first look into the rules for operating a drone in the city. The regulations are stricter than you may think.
How To Get A Drone License In Nevada
A drone license is not difficult to obtain; you must be at least 18 years old. Additionally, you must be fluent in English, meet basic mental and physical requirements for drone pilots, and pass an FAA exam. Whether you are flying drones for fun or for profit, you will need a drone certificate.
Drone pilots can work in various fields, including freelance filmmaking, aerial surveys, real estate photography, and other situations where a chopper would be too costly or dangerous. When you are ready to get your drone license, you should get an FFA tracking number.
You must create an Integrated Airman Certification and Rating Application Profile to get the number. Following that, you will have to pass an aeronautical knowledge exam. The test includes questions on airspace classification, limits, flight operations, drone rules, emergency procedures, and flying restrictions.
To pass the test, you must get a total score of at least 70 percent and take it at a nearby knowledge testing center. The exam takes 2 hours to complete, and you must have a national picture ID, such as a passport or driver's license, to register for it. After completing the test, you will be given a 17-digit identification number, which you must save.
To obtain your license, you must return to the Integrated Airman Certification and Rating Application Profile website and complete the form. If you pass the process after submitting your application, you will receive an email containing your license. You must write and pass a periodic aeronautical knowledge exam every 24 months.
Done License Nevada Cost
The FAA Aeronautical Knowledge Exam is regularly given at around 800 testing facilities across the United States. Drone pilots are usually advised to schedule their examinations at least one week in advance. The bulk of testing centers are small, and while demand is not strong, it is the kind of thing you will want to plan for.
The charge for taking the aeronautical knowledge examination is $175, which is paid to the testing center rather than the FAA. You must pay the money when you want to register for the exam. Your payment will not be refunded if you do not take the exam or if you fail it.
Drone Registration Nevada
In Nevada, every drone should be registered before operation. There used to be a period when people could operate unregistered drones. However, the FAA decided to step in and implement new laws due to the riding drone operation and the growing crashes and safety issues that come with them.
However, there are a couple of exceptions; if your drone is smaller than your hand and weighs less than 0.55 pounds, it does not need to be registered. As a drone pilot, you must not try to pilot a drone without first registering it, or you will be taking a significant risk that will cost you much money and land you with federal prosecution.
Drone registration is important as the penalties can be severe if you are detected in a no-fly zone with an unregistered drone. Once the FAA gets notified of this offense, they will determine if it is a criminal or civil offense, meaning you can be fined about $27,500 to $250,000 and a maximum sentence of three years in jail.
To register a drone in Nevada, you must visit the FAA drone registration website. When registering a drone, you will need a mailing address, your email address, the model of the drone, a payment method, and the make of your drone. Select the option to register a drone after logging into the website and clicking proceed.
After that, complete all relevant fields and pay the $5 registration cost. You can pay the registration price with a credit card or PayPal and print the registration certificate once you have paid. You will be capable of flying after properly registering and labeling your drone.
Keep your registration papers with you in case you are questioned while operating. You must always have proof on you for confirmation and to prevent difficulties. Consider it the equivalent of a driver's license; you do not want to be pulled over and discover you do not have your driver's license.
You can use the registration number on many drones once legally registered. Drone registration lasts three years; you must renew your drone registration before it expires to avoid getting fined or facing a penalty.
Drone Laws Nevada
The federal government enacted drone laws in Nevada and other states. Nevada does, however, have statutory law. As a result, the Nevada Department of Transportation and Nevada Legislature has stated that there is just one drone statute in force throughout the state. Below are the drone laws in Nevada.
- Flying a drone near 5 miles of any airport with no FAA clearance or the approval of the airport operator is illegal.
- Without the owner's explicit permission, you should not pilot a drone within 500 feet of a vital facility or 250 feet of a critical facility.
- Drone restrictions in Nevada make it illegal to fly over automobiles and big crowds of people like in concerts, sporting events, and festivals.
- Additionally, you should maintain a minimum range of 25 feet from individuals and susceptible property.
- Drones should also avoid flying near manned aircraft.
- Drone pilots must operate their drones with caution and never while inebriated.
- Do not operate a drone
- if there is a chance of limited visibility or other adverse weather.
Flying a drone in a forbidden location in Nevada could result in a civil penalty from the Federal Aviation Administration. In the most serious cases, you might receive fines of up to $250,000 and or a year in federal jail, as well as allegations of drone trespassing, terrorism, or violation of privacy.
Nevada Drone Laws Over Private Property
Although you are allowed to fly above private property without authorization, provided that you neither compromise with the owner's pleasure of the property nor airspace, if you violate someone's privacy or destroy their property, they are likely to file a suit.
You must also be informed that if your drone is so noisy that it annoys others in the area where you are flying, it is deemed noise pollution, which can lead to a penalty or even a prison sentence if it happens frequently enough for people to take notice.
Keep reading: How To Get A Drone License In Mississippi [GUIDE]
In the Silver State, there are numerous sites to operate a drone. Tourists should not, however, jump into it and visit Nevada without first familiarizing themselves with several drone legislation. Regrettably, some people do exactly that; as a result, officials have recently reported an increase in unlawful drone flights in Nevada and around the state. Learning the drone rules of the country or area you visit is essential for a safe and happy drone flight experience.
- How To Get A Drone License In Minnesota [ANSWERED]
- How To Get A Drone License In Montana [DO YOU NEED ONE?]
Shawn Manaher loves to play with new toys and dive into new hobbies. As a serial entrepreneur, work definitely comes first but there is always room for hobbies.