New Hampshire is popular for being the home to many firsts, including the first alarm clock invented in Concord, the first free, tax-supported library in Peterborough, and the first state to declare independence from England. It may seem that there are few interesting sights, but it is still a great idea to be in a place with lots of history. Is there a better way to explore the city than using drones?
Before you can be issued a drone license in New Hampshire, you must be 16 years old and above, understand, speak, and write English, and be in the right physical and mental state to pilot a drone. If you meet these, you can register and sit for the aeronautical knowledge exam and pass it.
Before you operate a drone in a new state, it is best to get familiar with all the drone laws, including federal, state, and municipal drone laws. Only then can you follow the required procedures and fly your drone legally.
How To Get A Drone License In New Hampshire
It is required by law in every state in the United States of America that you must obtain a drone license before operating a drone as a commercial drone pilot. For a better understanding, we will explain why. In the U.S., drone pilots are classified into three; hobbyists or recreational drone pilots, professional or commercial drone pilots, and government employees.
Hobbyists or recreational drone pilots fly their drones for fun and pleasure; professional or commercial drone pilots fly their drones for business or work purposes, and government employees fly their drones for government work, like the fire or police department. By law, you must obtain a drone license to operate commercially and as a government employee.
Before you can be eligible to apply for a drone license, you be at least 16 years old, you must be able to understand, read, speak, and write in the English Language, you must be mentally and physically fit to fly a drone safely, and you must be a citizen or a permanent resident of the United States.
If you meet these requirements, you can schedule an appointment to sit for the aeronautical knowledge test. Prior to taking the test, you must have obtained a Federal Aviation Administration Number (FTN). To get an FTN, you must create a profile with the Integrated Airman Certification and Rating Application (IACRA).
After obtaining the FTN, you can schedule an appointment to sit for the aeronautical knowledge test at a knowledge testing center (which must be approved by the FAA). The knowledge test will cover various areas, including rules and regulations for UAS operations, operation requirements, flight restrictions, aviation weather sources, and weather effects on UAS operations.
For you to have a chance at obtaining a drone license, you must pass the knowledge test by getting at least seventy percent of the questions correctly. The questions are randomly selected from different questions, making the questions for each applicant unique. The total time for taking the test is 120 minutes (2 hours).
After passing the aeronautical knowledge test, you must pass a TSA security background check. This process is also known as the FAA Form 8710-13, and upon completion, you will receive a confirmation email with detailed instructions on printing your remote pilot certificate (temporary).
Some internal processing and background checks are required before you can be issued a remote pilot certificate (permanent). Once the internal processing is completed, your remote pilot certificate (permanent) will be sent to you via mail. If otherwise, you will not receive it.
Drone License New Hampshire Cost
There are about 800 testing centers in the United States, so they are in every state for you to schedule an appointment to obtain a drone license. It is best advised to schedule the knowledge test a week earlier to prevent errors. For some people, it is easier to go to a drone training school where they can then register for the aeronautical knowledge test.
The cost for sitting for the aeronautical knowledge test is $175, which will be paid to the testing center you register with. This fee is compulsory and mandatory to sit for the aeronautical knowledge test and is non-refundable if you fail the test or do not sit for it. Also, if you fail to pass the knowledge test, you will not be issued a drone license.
Drone Registration New Hampshire
There is a general assumption that once you obtain a drone license, you are free to operate your drone anywhere and anytime. This is false; whether you obtain a drone license or not, you are required to register your drone before you can fly it; this applies to hobbyists, commercial drone pilots, and government employees.
Registration of a drone costs only $5 and has a validity period of 3 years. You are required to register every drone weighing less than 55 pounds and more than 0.55 pounds with the Federal Aviation Administration online or for paperwork. You must provide your full name, email address, and home address, as well as the manufacturer, model, and serial number of the drone.
Each drone must be registered separately for commercial drone pilots, so if you have 10 drones as a commercial drone pilot, you will register each drone separately and obtain a registration number for each drone with the total sum of $50. For hobbyists, they can register as many drones as they have with the same registration number.
For you to be able to register your drone in New Hampshire, you must be at least thirteen years old, own a debit or credit card, and be a citizen of the United States or a legal permanent resident. You will receive an FAA registration certificate when you complete the registration process.
Drone Laws New Hampshire
Before you fly a drone, it is imperative that you know the drone laws enforced in the state; this includes federal, state, and municipal drone laws. There are severe penalties for violating a single drone law; you may be charged to court and go to jail, lose your drone, and pay a heavy fine.
The Federal Aviation Administration drone laws are:
- Before flying a drone commercially, you must pass the FAA aeronautical knowledge test and obtain a remote pilot certificate.
- As a hobbyist, your drone must not weigh more than 0.55 pounds, and you must have it registered with the Federal Aviation Administration.
- It is prohibited to operate a drone recklessly to cause a risk of damage or physical injury to other humans or property.
- You must always maintain a visual line of sight with your drone.
- You must not fly your drone over people or vehicles.
- You can only fly your drone in the Class G airspace.
- You must not fly your drone at night without adequate lighting.
- To operate a drone as a government employee, you must obtain a federal certificate of authorization (COA).
New Hampshire has only two drone laws enforced throughout;
- Using a drone for fishing, hunting, or trapping is prohibited.
- It is prohibited to operate a drone within New Hampshire State Park boundaries.
New Hampshire Drone Laws Over Private Property
There are no laws regulating the operation of drones over private property, but it is best to avoid flying your drone over private property without the permission of the property owner. You can be prosecuted for privacy invasion, trespassing, or creating a nuisance which is a serious offense.
Also read: How To Get A Drone License In New Mexico
Drone operation is a good way to relax and enjoy your holiday; there are tons of sights you can view with your drone. Nevertheless, it is important that you comply with the due process required; you must obtain a drone license, register your drone, and obey all the drone laws.
- How To Get A Drone License In New Jersey [DO YOU NEED ONE?]
- How To Get A Drone License In Ohio [DO YOU NEED ONE?]
Shawn Manaher loves to play with new toys and dive into new hobbies. As a serial entrepreneur, work definitely comes first but there is always room for hobbies.