To fly a drone in Oregon for commercial purposes, you must follow the requirements of part 107 UAS rule, including having a drone license. But how do you get a drone license in Oregon?
To get a drone license in Oregon, you need to study for the aeronautical knowledge test, obtain an FTN, schedule the aeronautical knowledge test in an FAA-accredited center, and apply to get the license. Getting an FAA drone license should take 4-6 weeks.
If you want to fly in Oregon and are unsure how to navigate getting a drone license, read on for more details.
How to Get a Drone License in Oregon
The FAA's test has 60 questions, and you need to score above 70% to pass the test. If you think that you have excellent aeronautical knowledge and you are ready to get a drone license in Oregon, here is what you should do:
- Make an appointment with an FAA-accredited test facility in Oregon, and remember to have your government-issued ID for identification.
- Take your time to study and ensure that you understand everything that is there to know about drones and aeronautical knowledge. You can seek assistance from companies that train drone operators on how to pass the aeronautical test as long as you are willing to pay for such services.
- Pay $175 for the aeronautical test.
- Take the aeronautical test and wait up to 72 hours to know whether or not you passed the test.
- Apply with the FAA to get a Remote Pilot Certificate
- Print out your temporary certificate as you wait for the real one in the email.
If you fail the aeronautical knowledge test, you do not have to worry because you can do it again after 14 days.
What is in the FAA Drone Test?
Whether you prepare for the aeronautical test on your own or seek professional assistance, one secret to passing the test is knowing exactly what is in it. The FAA test has 60-multiple choice questions, and you will have two hours to pass the exam. The pass mark of the test is 70% and above. It would help to familiarize yourself with key topics in the examination to pass the test.
- FAA drone laws
- Airport operations
- National Airspace System (NAS)
- Weather and Micrometeorology
- Reading Sectional Charts
- Flying a drone at night
- Crew resource management
- Effects of alcohol and drugs in relation to drone operations
- Drone loading and Performance
- Radio communications
- Aeronautical decision-making
- Emergency procedures
What is the Closest FAA Drone Testing Center?
It is essential to understand that you will be taking the aeronautical test in person. Therefore, you need to choose an FAA-accredited center close to you. Some of the FAA drone testing centers in Oregon are the 128th Aviation Brigade and FSS/FSDE Minot AFB Education Center.
Drone License Oregon Cost
If you are wondering how much it will cost to get your drone license, you need to understand that it is relatively low, as you will need less than 500 dollars.
First, you need to $ 175 non-refundable amount to an FAA-approved center in Oregon. The test is paid for and scheduled online. Further, the FAA requires you to take a recurrent test every two years to maintain your certification currency.
In addition to the 175 dollars, you may need another $ 300 for the test prep. With the assistance of a professional in preparing for your aeronautical knowledge test, you have better chances of passing the test and avoiding a situation where you are compelled to redo the test.
Drone Registration Oregon
Whether flying for commercial or recreation purposes in Oregon, you must register your drone with the FAA. The FAA requires all drones weighing 250 grams and above to register with them. You will also need to pay 5 dollars to register your drone.
How to Register
Registering your drone with the FAA is a straightforward process that is not supposed to take much of your time. Some of the information you will need include an email address, a phone number, credit or debit card, and a remote ID serial number provided by the manufacturer.
Other than having all the necessary information, there are other basic requirements that you will need to meet to proceed with the registration process.
- You must be above the age of 13
- Be a US citizen or have legal permanent residence
With that, you can proceed to register your drone online at FAA DroneZone. Remember that your drone must weigh between 0.55 and 55 pounds.
Label your Drone
The FAA requires drone operators to mark their drone with their registration number before they can fly. Always do the following to ensure that you do not get into trouble with the authorities;
- Label your drone with a PDF
- Ensure that the label is in a legible condition
- Ensure that the label is affixed to the drone by the necessary means to remain affixed during operations.
- Make sure you display the label legibly on the external surface of the drone.
Drone Laws Oregon
State drone laws in Oregon are laws applicable to the entire state of Oregon and were enacted by the Oregon Legislative Assembly. Oregon has four wide laws designed to govern the use of drones in the state of Oregon.
This law seeks to accomplish several objectives, which include;
- Allow law enforcement agencies to use drones to reconstruct an accident scene.
- Modifies the law prohibiting drone weaponization, making it a class C felony to a projectile from a weaponized UAV.
- Prohibits the use of Unmanned Aerial Vehicles over a private property in a manner that knowingly, intentionally, or recklessly harasses or annoys the property owner.
The law modifies the definitions of drones and makes them a class A misdemeanor to operate a weaponized UAS. Further, it regulates the use of drones by public agencies, including requiring procedures and policies for data retention. The law also makes it illegal for uncrewed aerial vehicles to operate near critical facilities such as correctional facilities.
This law plays different roles in managing the operation of drones in the State of Oregon. They include;
- Allow law enforcement agencies to operate a UAV with a warrant and for listed exceptions such as training purposes.
- Requires the DOA to report to legislative committees on the progress of federal regulations and whether private individuals operating drones should similarly register their drones with other aircraft.
- Establishes new crimes and penalties for mounting arsenals on UAVs and interfering with or gaining unauthorized access to public places.
- All public bodies operating drones must register their drones with the DOA, which keeps a registry of such drones.
Oregon Drone Laws over Private Property
While the FAA has not enacted laws to prohibit drones from flying over public properties, the Oregon state has enacted a bill that makes it illegal for drone operators to fly over private property in a manner that may be harassing to the owner. House Bill 3047 does the following:
- Prohibits drone operators from flying over private property with the intention of reckless harassment to the property owner of the occupants.
- Classify the arming of UVAs as a class C felony.
- Permits law enforcement agencies to use drones for crime scene reconstruction and accidents.
Keep reading: How To Get A Drone License In Pennsylvania [ASNWERED]
Getting a drone license in Oregon should not be an issue that gives you a headache. You only need to follow a few procedures, and within six weeks of commencing the process, you should have your drone license ready. If you find preparing for the aeronautical test challenging, you can seek professional test-prep services. In addition to having a drone license, always ensure that you adhere to other rules and regulations governing the operation of drones in the state.
- How To Get A Drone License In North Dakota [ANSWERED]
- How To Get A Drone License In New York [DO YOU NEED ONE?]
Shawn Manaher loves to play with new toys and dive into new hobbies. As a serial entrepreneur, work definitely comes first but there is always room for hobbies.