Skip to Content

How To Get A Drone License In Rhode Island [CAN YOU?]

How To Get A Drone License In Rhode Island [CAN YOU?]

Rhode Island is the tiniest state in the United States, yet it has a lot of fantastic sites to operate a drone. The state offers a 400-mile coastline with beautiful beaches and a great view from the summit. However, before piloting a drone in this state, you should familiarize yourself with the laws and regulations of drone flying.

You can get a drone license if you are above 16 years, in the best mental and physical state to fly a drone, and can write, understand, and speak English. To get a drone license in Rhode Island, you will have to sit for and pass the aeronautical knowledge exam, get an FTN, and complete an FAA form. 

Rhode Island authorizes the operation of drones for both recreational and commercial reasons, as long as the pilot complies with all FAA, state, and municipal rules and regulations. Violation of any drone law in Rhode Island attracts some penalties.

between mountains drone

How To Get A Drone License In Rhode Island

When it regards drone operation, there are two major types of drone pilots, recreational drone pilots and commercial drone pilots. Recreational drone pilots are drone operators that fly a drone as a hobby and mostly for fun. Commercial drone pilots, on the other hand, are drone operators that fly a drone for business purposes and to make money.

Drone pilots can operate in various professions, such as freelance filmmaking, aerial surveying, real estate photography, and other scenarios where a chopper would be too expensive or unsafe to use.

A drone license also referred to as a Remote Pilot Certificate, is formal permission from the FAA in the form of a certificate or license that permits you to pilot a drone in the United States under certain laws and regulations. Getting a drone license is an FAA requirement for commercial drone pilots.

To pilot a drone commercially in Rhode Island, it is a requirement for you to adhere to all the laws and requirements of the FAA part 107 drone laws. One of the FAA part 107 laws is that every commercial drone pilot must take and pass the FAA Aeronautical Knowledge exam to get a drone license.

It is relatively difficult to obtain a drone license; you must be at least 16 years old. You must also speak English fluently, meet basic mental and physical standards for drone pilots, and pass an FAA exam. The first step to obtaining a drone license is to prepare for the knowledge examination.

It is a lot easier than most people believe. According to the FAA drone license, commercial drone operators must have a basic awareness of what aircraft and chopper pilots do in the area. The test includes questions on airspace classification, limits, and flight operations, as well as questions on drone rules, emergency procedures, and flight restrictions.

After studying and preparing for the knowledge exam, you should open an IACRA account and receive an FAA Tracking Number. After getting the tracking number, you should register for the knowledge exam; during the registration process, you will pick a suitable date, time, and center. Then, sit for the exam as scheduled.

After writing the exam, you will receive your result immediately; the average pass score is 70 percent. If you get above 70, you have passed the exam; you can proceed to complete an FAA form for the drone license by making use of the electronic FAA IACRA. Once this is done, you will get your drone license.

Drone License Rhode Island Cost

The Part 107 exam costs $175; a Part 107 study program, which costs around $149, is also available. After acquiring a certificate, there are no additional costs, and you can upgrade your license for free every 24 calendar months. The charge is only given to CATS to reimburse them for the use of their equipment, product testing, and operating expenses.

The funds do not go to the Federal Aviation Administration. Drone pilots routinely apply for an FAA drone license to operate their drone-based companies; therefore, the cost of doing so should be factored in. It is important to keep in mind that the testing money is not refundable.

This implies that you will not receive a refund regardless of whether you pass or fail the exam. If you fail to attend your planned exam without prior notice, you may be charged again if you need to reschedule.

Drone Registration Rhode Island

Drone registration is one of the most important aspects of the drone laws in every state in the United States. All drone pilots, both recreational and commercial pilots, are required to register their drone with the FAA before piloting it anywhere in Rhode Island. The only exception to this law is if the drone weighs less than 0.55 pounds.

Every drone in Rhode Island that weighs more than 0.55 pounds and less than 55 pounds must be registered before operation. Each registrant must provide their full name, email address, and mailing address, as well as the brand, serial number, and model of the drone they wish to fly.

To register for a drone, go to the FAA's drone website. Select the option to register a drone after logging into the website and clicking proceed. After that, complete all relevant fields and pay the $5 registration cost. You can pay the registration price with a credit card or PayPal and print the registration certificate once you have paid.

It is necessary and obligatory in Rhode Island that after registering your drone, you should attach your drone registration number to the drone. The number must be very visible and clear on the drone's body. You should also bring your certification with you, either online or on paper, so you can show it to them if any law authority asks for it.

Drone Laws Rhode Island

Without laws regulating and controlling every activity, there will be chaos and mayhem; this is the reason for drone laws. And you need to understand that while it might not seem like it, there are lots of activities in the upper atmosphere. If there are no drone laws, there will be pandemonium between manned and unmanned crews.

Let us look at the drone laws enforced in Rhode Island;

  • Flying a drone in the airspace below 500 feet during the beach season is prohibited.
  • Operating a drone over roads, public parks, and public facilities is prohibited during the hosting of large venue events.
  • All drones are prohibited from operating over large venues where special events are hosted in Narragansett.
  • All drones are prohibited from flying over Town Beach during the beach season.
  • Drones are forbidden from operating in any public park with a Special Use Permit issued by the Park Facility Managers.
  • Drone pilots are prohibited from using drones to disturb or harass users, wildlife, and other natural resources in a state park.

Rhode island sign

Rhode Island Drone Laws Over Private Property

Although there is no official state law regulating the operation of drones over private property, it is best to avoid flying over private properties. Neither are there any federal laws that prohibit the operation of drones over private property. You should know that a property owner can file a complaint against you.

Offenses like privacy violation, trespassing, causing a nuisance, and other similar actions have severe consequences. If you want to fly your drone over private property, you must first seek the property owner's permission.

Also read: How To Get A Drone License In South Dakota [ANSWERED]

Final Thoughts

Have you been looking for a fun activity to engage in? You can consider flying a drone; it is fun, exciting, and thrilling, and you will have a great time. However, it is important that you are aware of and comply with all the drone laws of the state you want to fly your drone.

Keep reading: