Skip to Content

How To Get A Drone License In South Carolina [CAN YOU?]

How To Get A Drone License In South Carolina [CAN YOU?]

South Carolina is a terrific area for drone hobbyists to visit because there are so many sights to photograph. However, before you begin flying your drone, you must first become familiar with the state's regulations and laws. Otherwise, you risk getting into difficulty and maybe facing legal action.

You can get a drone license in South Carolina if you plan to utilize drones for business purposes. Pass the FAA-approved Aeronautical Knowledge Exam, then apply for and earn a small UAS rating drone license. The Transportation Security Administration will conduct a background check on you.

The state of South Carolina allows recreational and commercial drones to be flown as long as all rules are followed. You should be conscious that some parts of South Carolina prohibit the use of drones, whereas others permit them only under particular circumstances.

south carolina drone green

How To Get A Drone License In South Carolina

Drone permits are part of the FAA's recently released drone flight guidelines aimed at increasing airspace safety. You must obtain a drone license if you are not operating a drone for recreational purposes. FAA Part 107 regulations require drone licenses.

Make sure you know what the Part 107 rules permit and prohibit. You must be 16 years old, capable of understanding, writing, reading, and speaking English, and in good mental and physical health to obtain a drone license. You should obtain an FFA tracking number as soon as you are ready to receive your drone license.

To get the number, you must create an Integrated Airman Certification and Rating Application Profile. Then, you will be required to take an aeronautical knowledge exam and excel in it. The test includes questions about airspace classification, flight operation limitations, drone laws, emergency procedures, and flight restrictions.

After completing and passing the test, you will be given a 17-digit identification number which you must keep. You must return to the Integrated Airman Certification and Rating Application Profile website and complete the form to obtain your license. Submit your application, and you will receive an email with your license if you pass the process.

To register for the exam, you must have a national picture ID. Every 24 months, you must write and pass an aeronautical knowledge exam. You should submit your drone and all applicable documents to an FAA agent for testing or inspection when they ask for them.

The goal of the drone licensing exam, on the other hand, is to guarantee that you know the basics in case something goes wrong, your smartphone breaks down, or you need to double-check your current airspace.

Drone License South Carolina Cost

South Carolina is the best state to reside in right now; it is known for its parks, farms, and beaches; it is an ideal place for drone pilots due to its beautiful surroundings. However, just like in every other state, there are restrictions on where you can fly a drone. The ability to fly a drone commercially is one of the advantages of possessing a drone license.

If you receive a drone license, you can fly your drone confidently and without worrying about being apprehended or detained by authorities. You could also legally and safely fly in class G airspace. To work as a commercial drone pilot, you must hold a drone license; to obtain a drone license, you must write and pass a knowledge exam.

The cost of obtaining a drone license in South Carolina is $175, including the exam fee. If you fail the exam, however, you will not be awarded a license. When you buy a certificate, there are no hidden costs, and you may upgrade your license for free every 24 months.

Only CATS receives the funds, which are used to reimburse them for the use of their equipment, testing supplies, and operating costs. The funds raised do not go to the FAA. Your examination cost will not be returned if you do not take the exam.

Drone Registration South Carolina

It does not matter if you are a hobbyist or a professional drone pilot; registering your drone is a must. Before flying a drone that weighs more than 0.55 pounds but less than 55 pounds, it must be registered with the FAA. Drones for commercial usage can be purchased before or after a drone license is obtained, but they must still be registered with the FAA.

You can register on the FAA DroneZone website. Registrants must submit their full name, email address, and mailing address, as well as the manufacturer, serial number, and model of each drone they desire to fly. Once officially registered, you can use the registration number on many drones.

The drone registration charge is $5 and is valid for three years. To register, you will need a debit or credit card and the model and brand of your drone. Go to their website to register your drone and create a new account with the FAA. You will receive a registration number or plate after registering your drone.

The proper registration plates must be attached to your drone.

If someone else is flying your drone, they should have a copy of the registration certificate. According to federal law, drone operators must present their registration certificate to any law enforcement officer who demands it.

Before the registration certificate expires after three years, it must be renewed. You will be charged a $5 late fee for each month you do not renew your drone registration before it expires if you do not renew it before it expires. To renew your drone registration, go to the FAA drone zone website and follow the instructions to fill out the application form.

Drone Laws South Carolina

The legislature of South Carolina has confirmed that there are presently no unique drone rules in place in the state. However, this does not imply that you are free to fly a drone wherever you like. The FAA laws are implemented in South Carolina, and you must adhere to them; below are some of them.

  • Operating a drone below 400 feet vertically or 500 feet horizontally of a government or military facility is prohibited. There are consequences for anyone who breaks this law.
  • Nobody can land, launch, or operate a drone on any National Park Service seas or lands like state parks.
  • Before you can operate a drone in South Carolina, you must first register the drone with the South Carolina Aeronautics Commission.
  • Drone pilots are not permitted to fly their aircraft over individuals in various public spaces.
  • The drone pilot needs to check that they are not impaired by drugs, alcohol, pharmaceuticals, or other substances that could affect their ability to handle a drone properly.

south carolina sign street

South Carolina Drone Laws Over Private Property

Drones operating over private property are currently unrestricted in South Carolina. However, hovering over private property is strongly discouraged because people are frequently irritated when they discover an intruding drone.

Someone could file a lawsuit against you, accusing you of stalking, intruding, or disturbing them. You can get into much trouble if you do it this way. Although it is not a criminal matter, it is a civil problem, and you must always respect those around you.

Hence, before you fly a drone over private property, you should ask for permission from the land owner. You should also never use your drone to take images or videos of others on their property without their approval and permission.

Keep reading: How To Get A Drone License In South Dakota 

Final Thoughts

Drones with cameras enable broadcasting and video recording that would otherwise be impossible to achieve using standard methods. As a result, some businesses have begun to use drones for commercial purposes, such as aerial surveying, and non-commercial uses, such as real estate photography. Before using a drone for commercial reasons, you must first obtain a drone license.

Also read: