Tennessee has beautiful green places and natural sights you can photograph with your drone. However, before operating a drone in this state, you must familiarize yourself with the local drone rules. Drones are permitted for recreational and business use in Tennessee; nevertheless, they are subject to a slew of laws and restrictions.
To fly a commercial drone in Tennessee, you will need a drone license; however, you must be at least 16 years old and in good health. First, create an IACRA account and get a tracking number. Take the aeronautical exam and pass it, after which you must fill out an FAA form to get your drone license.
Drones are gaining traction in the manufacturing business across the United States. The legal landscape around the use of drones is always expanding and changing. To fly a drone in Tennessee, you must be aware of the state's drone regulations.
How To Get A Drone License In Tennessee
A drone license is required for all commercial drone operators in Tennessee. A drone license is not difficult to obtain; you must be 16 years old. In addition, you must be able to communicate in English, meet basic mental and physical requirements for drone pilots, and pass an FAA exam.
Passing the FAA Part 107 test and gaining your commercial drone pilot license can appear challenging and time-consuming, especially if you have no prior experience. It is actually a lot easier than most people believe.
If something goes wrong, your phone stops working, or you need to double-check your current airspace, the Part 107 drone license ensures you know the basics. As soon as you are ready to receive your drone license, you should get an FFA tracking number.
You must first create an Integrated Airman Certification and Rating Application Profile to receive the number. After that, you must pass an aviation knowledge examination. Questions on airspace classification, limits, and flight operations, as well as drone rules, emergency procedures, and flight restrictions, are included in the test.
You must achieve a total score of at least 70 percent on the test and take it at a nearby knowledge testing center to pass it. You must have a national picture ID, such as a passport or driver's license, to register for the exam, which takes two hours to complete.
You will be issued a 17-digit identification number once you complete the test, which you must save. To get your license, go to the Integrated Airman Certification and Rating Application Profile page and fill out the form. After submitting your application, you will receive an email containing your license.
Drone License Tennessee Cost
Drones are becoming the next big thing. The most appealing feature of obtaining a drone license is that it allows you to make money. Despite its legal ramifications, the remote pilot license has gained favor among enterprises.
You must have a drone license to work as a commercial drone pilot. You must write and pass a knowledge exam to receive a drone license. In Tennessee, obtaining a drone license costs $160, including the exam price. However, you will not be granted a license if you fail the exam.
The money is only given to CATS, and it is used to reimburse them for the use of their equipment, testing supplies, and operating expenses. The funds will not be distributed to the Federal Aviation Administration. Obtaining a drone license helps demonstrate to others that you understand what you are doing and how to do it properly.
Property owners, interested spectators, and even local police officers may be unaware of the limits due to the newness of the technology. There are no further expenses when you purchase a certificate, and you can upgrade your license for free every 24 calendar months.
Drone Registration Tennessee
There are two sorts of drone pilots: leisure drone pilots and commercial drone pilots when it comes to drone operation. Recreational pilots are pilots who fly drones as a pastime and mostly for entertainment. Commercial drone pilots, on the other hand, are drone operators who use their aircraft for commercial purposes and to make money.
In every state in the United States, drone registration is one of the most significant aspects of drone laws. Before flying their drone anywhere in Tennessee, all recreational and commercial drone pilots must register it with the FAA. Only if the drone weighs less than 0.55 pounds is there an exception to this rule.
Before flying a drone in Tennessee, it must be registered if it weighs more than 0.55 pounds but less than 55 pounds. Each registrant must submit their full name, email address, and mailing address, as well as the brand, serial number, and model of the drone they desire to fly.
To register a drone, you must fill out and upload a registration form. This form can be completed online or in-person at a state police station, a drone dealer, a county treasurer's office, or a municipal police station.
The fee for registering a drone is $5, which goes toward developing and maintaining a database of all registered drones in the United States. Ensure you do not fly your drone until you register it with the FAA.
Drone Laws Tennessee
Tennessee state law refers to the laws enacted by Tennessee lawmakers and only pertains to Tennessee. This state is very strict with its law and has penalties for any crime committed or broken law. Below are the drone laws in Tennessee.
- Flying inside 250 feet of a Critical Infrastructure Facility is illegal. According to the law, a CIF is any location or territory surrounded by fencing or other barriers that plainly intend to keep outsiders out.
- It is forbidden to fly close or photograph open-air gatherings or fireworks displays. This purpose is, of course, to avoid interfering with the proceedings.
- In Tennessee, law enforcement agents are only permitted to use a drone in cases of risk of life or terrorist attacks or threats.
- In Tennessee, spying on someone with a drone is illegal; observation and or image capture of a person without their knowledge is a Class C felony that can land you in jail.
- It is highly illegal to operate a drone within any state park in Davidson County unless such a park has a designated area for drone operations.
- Before operating your drone in Tennessee, you must register with the FAA and connect the registration number to it.
- Before hovering over someone's house, you must also receive approval from the house owner.
- Do not fly above emergency response or disaster locations without obtaining permission from the local authority in charge of these operations in your location.
- Drones cannot be flown directly over persons, groups, or athletic events.
Tennessee Drone Laws Over Private Property
As fun as drone flying is, it would be a bummer to have your drone seized because someone filed a complaint against you. Tennessee takes the privacy of its citizens and residents seriously; hence, they created a rule that states that you must always respect the privacy of others.
When it concerns drone operation, flying over private property is not advisable. Before you fly your drone over private property, you should request permission from the property owner and, if possible, get written consent. If you fly a drone over private property without permission, you can get sued for invasion of privacy.
While there are fantastic spots to pilot a drone in Tennessee, like the Pigeon Forge and Gatlinburg, you must do some preparations and planning before taking your drone out. Ensure you familiarize yourself with the state's drone laws and register your drone before your first operation. Also, ensure you get a drone license if you will be commercially operating a drone.
- How To Get A Drone License In Rhode Island [ANSWERED]
- How To Get A Drone License In Vermont [DO YOU NEED ONE?]
Shawn Manaher loves to play with new toys and dive into new hobbies. As a serial entrepreneur, work definitely comes first but there is always room for hobbies.