Skip to Content

How To Get A Drone License In Wyoming [DO YOU NEED ONE?]

How To Get A Drone License In Wyoming [DO YOU NEED ONE?]

The Wyoming State Legislature passed drone legislation that affects the entire state. Drone pilots in Wyoming have a wide range of options, from beautiful mountain peaks to large swathes of grassland and shoreline; there is enough breathtaking scenery to see. However, you must know the drone restrictions before flying in Wyoming.

You will need a drone license if you want to use drones for business purposes in Wyoming. You must be 16 years old or older to obtain a drone license. You must take the Aeronautical knowledge test by registering at an FAA-approved knowledge center and then apply for and receive a drone license.

In Wyoming, the use of drones is governed by a single state-wide law that limits how law enforcement organizations use drones in their investigations. They also explore how and if they can store images and films taken by a drone.

drone buildings fly

How To Get A Drone License In Wyoming?

If you follow the Drone Laws in the United States, as established by FAA Part 107 guidelines, you can use a micro drone that weighs less than 55 pounds for labor or business. Commercial drone operations are legal in Alaska under FAA Part 107. The applicable state authorities may require additional permissions, licensing, or clearance procedures.

Make sure you understand what the Part 107 rules allow and do not allow. You must be 16 years old, capable of reading, writing, speaking, and understanding English, and in good mental and physical health to receive a drone license. The first step to getting a drone license is to obtain an FAA Tracking Number, also known as FTN.

You must first create an Integrated Airman Certification and Rating Application Profile to get the number. Following that, you will have to pass an aeronautical knowledge exam. The test includes questions on airspace classification, limits, flight operations, drone rules, emergency procedures, and flying restrictions.

To pass the test, you must get a total score of at least 70 percent and take it at a nearby knowledge testing center. The exam takes 2 hours to complete, and you must have a national picture ID, such as a passport or driver's license, to register for it. After completing the test, you will be given a 17-digit identification number, which you must save.

To obtain your license, you must return to the Integrated Airman Certification and Rating Application Profile website and complete the form. If you pass the process after submitting your application, you will receive an email containing your license. You must write and pass a periodic aeronautical knowledge exam every 24 months.

Drone License Wyoming Cost

The Part 107 exam costs $175. After acquiring a certificate, there are no additional costs, and you can upgrade your license for free every 24 calendar months. The charge is only given to CATS to reimburse them for the use of their equipment, product testing, and operating expenses.

The funds do not go to the Federal Aviation Administration. Drone pilots routinely apply for an FAA drone license to operate their drone-based companies; therefore, the cost of doing so should be factored in. It is important to keep in mind that the testing money is not refundable.

This implies that you will not receive a refund regardless of whether you pass or fail the exam. If you fail to attend your planned exam without prior notice, you may be charged again if you need to reschedule.

Drone Registration Wyoming

Before registering for drone registration, you must first select the type of operator you will be. A hobbyist is someone who flies drones for pleasure rather than profit. Commercial operators use drones in their activities. Recreational pilots only operate drones for fun or leisure.

To register a drone, you must fill out and upload a registration form. This form can be completed online or physically at a state police station, a drone dealer, a county treasurer's office, or a municipal police station. In order to register a drone in Wyoming, you will need a validation code.

You can register either electronically or in person, but each has its prerequisites. To register your drone with the FAA, go to the FAA's drone registration website. You will need your drone and other equipment, such as a charger, before starting the registration process. A drone that weighs more than 0.55 pounds needs to be registered.

Drone registration costs $5 and is good for three years; to register, you will need a debit or credit card and the model and brand of your drone. Go to their website to register your drone and create a new account with the FAA. To avoid punishment, you must renew your drone registration certificate before it expires.

After registering your drone with the FAA, you will receive an FAA Certificate of Registration. You should bring your registration certificate with you when flying. If someone else is flying your drone, they should have a copy of the registration certificate. Drone operators must present their registration certificate to any law enforcement officer who demands it.

Drone Laws Wyoming

Drone pilots must adhere to several criteria to operate their drones safely. The Federal Aviation Administration has published a list of its regulations. The FAA's Part 107 regulations, which may be accessed on their website, encompass a wide spectrum of government and commercial drone activities; the drone laws of Wyoming are listed below.

  • Always stay clear of manned aircraft when handling the operations of a drone, and never utilize it negligently or irresponsibly.
  • Unless you pilot over a thinly crowded place, you cannot operate from a moving vehicle.
  • Drone operations should be done only during the daytime and with anti-collision lighting during the nighttime.
  • Anyone operating a drone under Part 107 is required to register each. You should use the automatic registration procedure if the drone weighs below 55 pounds.
  • To operate a commercial drone in Wyoming, you must complete the Unmanned Aircraft General knowledge exam, also known as the Part 107 FAA examination.
  • All drone pilots must always operate their drones within line of sight in Wyoming.
  • The top speed in Wyoming is 100 mph; it is prohibited for a drone to exceed this speed.
  • Drones cannot be flown directly over persons, groups, or athletic events.
  • Before operating your drone in Wyoming, you must register with the FAA.

If national rules are broken, the FAA may impose penalties. The FAA generally prefers to notify violating operators rather than penalize them arbitrarily. The FAA may suspend your registration and recommend corrective instruction if you commit a small infraction.

Expect harsh criminal or civil penalties for more significant offenses, such as not registering a drone or operating in restricted areas. A civil penalty of up to $27,000 may be imposed if a drone is not registered. A criminal punishment could include a fine of $250,000 or three years in prison.

sign wyoming

Wyoming Drone Laws Over Private Property

Drones are not allowed to fly over private property in Wyoming. Flying a drone in a way that invades another person's privacy is severely illegal. So, even though the FAA is the only one that controls the airspace, you cannot just fly your drone over private property.

Drones should only be flown over private property, including curtilage, with a valid warrant backed up by appropriate proof, similar to how homes and property are investigated. Furthermore, repurposing obtained data is prohibited, meaning that evidence gathered for one purpose cannot be used for another.

Final Thoughts

People who want to use drones for commercial or personal reasons in Wyoming have numerous options. This is because Wyoming has everything, from breathtaking natural scenery to many commercial prospects. To get the most out of flying your drone in Wyoming, make sure to adhere to the state's drone regulations.

Also read: