Skip to Content

How To Get A Drone License In New Jersey [DO YOU NEED ONE?]

How To Get A Drone License In New Jersey [DO YOU NEED ONE?]

Drones seem more prevalent than ever, whether you have noticed them humming about your area or seen them flying in the park. Drones are miniature, unmanned aircraft which react to directions from a remote controller. Although they were originally built for the military, drones are now accessible to enthusiasts of all ages.

You must be at least 16 years old to obtain a drone license. To get the license, you must pass the Aeronautical Knowledge Examination by at least 70-percent. You must first register at an FAA-approved knowledge center to take the test. Then apply for a Remote Pilot Certificate and acquire it.

After getting a new drone, you immediately want to unbox it and start flying your precious aircraft everywhere. However, before you begin flying and recording breathtaking aerial footage, you should familiarize yourself with the drone laws.

engineer fly droneHow To Get A Drone License In New Jersey

Drone permits are part of the FAA's new drone flight standards, which aim to improve airspace safety. If you are not using a drone for recreational purposes, you must obtain a drone license. FAA regulations necessitate the acquisition of a drone license for all commercial drone pilots.

Drone pilots can work in various sectors, such as freelance filmmaking, aerial surveying, real estate photography, and other situations where a chopper would be too expensive or dangerous. Make sure you understand what the Part 107 rules allow and do not allow.

To receive a drone license, you must be 16 years old, competent in understanding, writing, reading, and speaking English, and have good mental and physical health. On June 21, 2016, the FAA issued new regulations for small unmanned aircraft systems. Part 107 of the new rules create a new drone certification regime for the vast majority of low commercial drone flying operations.

First and foremost, you will have passed the aeronautical knowledge examination. Then, through a small UAS rating, apply for and get a Remote Pilot Certificate. Before acquiring your drone license, the Transportation Security Administration will conduct a background check on you, which you must pass.

The test includes questions on airspace classification, limits, and flight operations, as well as questions on drone rules, emergency procedures, and flight restrictions. After completing the test, you will be given a 17-digit identification number, which you must save. Return to the Integrated Airman Certification and Rating Application Profile website and complete the form to acquire your license.

If you pass the process after submitting your application, you will receive an email containing your license. You must have a national picture ID to register for the exam.

You must write and pass a periodic aeronautical knowledge exam every 24 months. When an FAA representative asks for your drone and any relevant paperwork, you should offer them for testing or inspection.

Drone License New Jersey Cost

New Jersey is currently considered the best state to live in; it is famous for its parks, farms, and beaches. Due to its amazing environment, it is an excellent location for drone pilots. However, like in every other state, some restrictions limit areas you can operate a drone.

One of the benefits of having a drone license is the ability to operate a drone commercially. You can fly your drone confidently and without fear of being captured or detained by authorities if you obtain a drone license. You could also fly across class G airspace legally and safely.

You must have a drone license to be eligible for commercial drone flying work. You must write and pass a knowledge exam to receive a drone license.

In New Jersey, the cost of obtaining a drone license is $175, which is used to pay for the exam. However, if you fail the exam, you will not be issued the license. There are no further expenses when you purchase a certificate, and you can upgrade your license for free every 24 calendar months.

The money is only given to CATS, and it is used to reimburse them for the use of their equipment, testing supplies, and operating expenses. The money collected does not go to the FAA. If you do not sit for the examination, your examination fee will not be refunded.

Drone Registration New Jersey

You must register your drone with the FAA and secure the drone registration plate to your drone before flying it in New Jersey. Any drone that weighs less than 55 pounds but more than 0.55 pounds must be registered with the FAA, either manually or electronically.

You must register your drone if you are 13 years old or older. Each registrant must provide their full name, email address, and mailing address, as well as the brand, serial number, and model of the drone they wish to fly. To register for a drone, go to the FAA's drone website.

The operator should register each unmanned aircraft separately. Registrants must submit their full name, email address, and mailing address, as well as the manufacturer, serial number, and model of each drone they desire to fly. Once officially registered, you can use the registration number on many drones.

Federal law requires every drone user who has registered their drone to show their registration certificate to any municipal or state law enforcement officer who asks for it. Drone registration costs $5 and is valid for three years.

Drone Laws New Jersey

Drone pilots can find plenty of beautiful landscapes and captivating coastlines in New Jersey, the "Garden State," for airborne photography and filmmaking. However, regarding drone rules, New Jersey is among the most severely controlled states. Drone pilots should be aware of the drone laws before flying; below are the drone laws in New Jersey.

  • The FAA can grant special approval to owners of vital infrastructure to prohibit drone operation over and near their property.
  • It is a fourth-degree criminal to operate a drone near a jail facility. The specific degree of proximity is not specified; however, it is best to stay as far away from them as possible.
  • You are not permitted to operate a drone while under the influence of narcotics.
  • It is illegal to fly a drone in a way that puts someone in danger.
  • Operating a drone in or near any property managed or owned by Essex County is unlawful.
  • You must not pilot a drone inside any park area in Middlesex County except if the head of the County Parks and Recreation explicitly states that a specific location is open to drone operation.
  • Landing a drone or taking off one inside any government or public building in Ventnor city is prohibited.
  • Passaic County does not allow the operation of drones over or within any park in the area without permission.

new jersey sign welcomeNew Jersey Drone Laws Over Private Property

Since the Federal Aviation Administration only governs airspace above 400 feet, drones can fly over private property. However, several states and regions have passed legislation making it illegal for drones to fly over private property. You must ensure that you do not break any local rules or regulations.

A drone operator who flies their drone over another person's private property without permission violates the New Jersey drone law. You must first obtain permission from the owners before flying a drone over their property, or you risk being sued for invasion of privacy.

Also read: How To Get A Drone License In Ohio 

Final Thoughts

The addition of cameras on drones enables the broadcasting or video recording that would otherwise be impossible to obtain through traditional means. As a result, several companies have begun to employ drones for commercial purposes, such as aerial surveying or photography, as well as for purposes unrelated to their primary industry, such as real estate photography or roof inspections. To use a drone for business purposes, you must first obtain a drone license.

Similar post: