Skip to Content

How To Get A Drone License In New Mexico [DO YOU NEED ONE?]

How To Get A Drone License In New Mexico [DO YOU NEED ONE?]

Drones are dangerous by their mere existence; as a result, federal and state laws govern their activity in New Mexico. While there are many legal ways to fly a drone, breaking specific state or federal laws can result in arrest and perhaps even incarceration. Today, we will go through the criteria for lawfully piloting drones.

Every commercial drone pilot in New Mexico must have a drone license. First, register online to obtain an FAA tracking number, open an account, and take the Airmen knowledge exam after paying $175. Then apply for the drone license and pass a TSA background check. 

Drones are widely known as unmanned aerial vehicles, and Mexico is a fantastic place to fly them. Mexico boasts a staggering amount of geodiversity. It is home to lush tropical rainforests, mountain ranges, arid deserts, and long stretches of coastline.

best fast droneHow To Get A Drone License In New Mexico

You are breaking the law if you operate a commercial drone before even acquiring a pilot's license. A fine of about $250,000, including civil fines and a jail sentence of about three years, are possible penalties. A license is required to fly a drone in New Mexico; different licensing policies apply depending on whether you are a commercial or leisure pilot.

Obtaining an FAA Tracking Number, commonly known as an FTN, is the first step in obtaining a drone license. Open an account on the FAA testing website with this number and choose a convenient FAA testing location. Next, choose a date and time convenient for you to take the exam.

Make sure you bring any government-issued identity cards you have with you to the exam. During the registration process, you can specify whether you will require specific accommodations during the exam, such as a time extension, a left-hand mouse, or regular pauses due to a reading or learning disability.

The test, which consists of 60 multiple-choice questions, will take two hours to complete. Make sure you know what the Part 107 rules permit and prohibit. You must be 16 years old, capable of understanding, writing, reading, and speaking English, and in good mental and physical health to obtain a drone license.

After completing the knowledge exam, your results should be linked to your license application. Then you should submit your application; after completing the test, you will be given a 17-digit identification number, which you must save. To obtain your license, you must return to the Integrated Airman Certification and Rating Application Profile website and complete the form.

The TSA will run a background check on you that you must successfully pass to get the license. You must write and pass a periodic aeronautical knowledge exam every 24 months. Many drone pilots who have taken the aeronautical exam say it is a straightforward test.

Drone License New Mexico Cost

Having a drone license is thrilling, and while the rest of the world is still experimenting with outdated technology, drones are ready to become the next big thing. The nicest part about getting a drone pilot license is that you can make money. The remote pilot license has become more popular among enterprises, despite its legal ramifications.

You must have a drone license to be eligible for commercial drone flying work. You must write and pass a knowledge exam to receive a drone license. In New Mexico, the cost of obtaining a drone license is $175, which is used to pay for the exam. However, if you fail the exam, you will not be issued the license.

The Federal Aviation Administration does not get any of the funds. The FAA has issued over a thousand Part 107 licenses to drone pilots. Drone pilots frequently seek an FAA drone license to operate their drone-based businesses; therefore, the cost of doing so is something to consider.

It is crucial to remember that the testing fee is non-refundable. This means that you will not receive a refund regardless of whether you pass or fail the exam. If you fail to show up for your scheduled exam without prior warning, you may be charged again if you want to reschedule the exam.

Drone Registration New Mexico

If you refuse to register a drone when needed, you are breaking the law. Failure to register a drone can result in fines close to $250,000, civil penalties, and three years in jail. Any drone weighing more than 0.55 pounds must be registered under federal regulations.

Each drone that weighs below 55 pounds can be registered using the streamlined, online approach. Both recreational and commercial users are subject to this rule. You can apply online; however, remember that larger aircraft have different registration requirements.

Drone registration is $5 and is valid for three years. The FAA mandates you to display your plane's registration number. You must also display your registration in digital or paper form to any local or state law enforcement authority that requests it. You should register your drone before taking it out if it is new.

Commercial drones can be acquired before or after obtaining a drone license, but they must be registered with the FAA. This is one of the most straightforward and cost-effective ways to begin your professional career as a drone pilot.

Drone Laws New Mexico

New Mexico's advanced drone restrictions set it apart from other states in the US. The legislature enacted regulations in 2015 declaring it lawful to operate drones for photography provided the pilot does not intrude on the privacy of others. Below are the drone laws in New Mexico.

  • Operating a drone over restricted airspaces like airports and military bases is illegal.
  • Assume you wish to work as a commercial drone pilot in New Mexico; you must pass the FAA's Aeronautical Written Test to obtain a Drone license.
  • Every drone operator should fly their drone within visual contact every time they operate a drone.
  • Every recreational or hobby drone pilot must write and pass the TRUST.
  • All drone pilots should stay clear of any airport when operating their drone since manned aircraft find it very hard to see and dodge drones.
  • In New Mexico, a drone cannot be used to drive, rally, pursue, harass, or harry any endangered animals, according to the legislation.
  • Avoid flying above crowds of people, sporting events, or stadiums unless you have permission.
  • Fly your drones away from emergency rescue operations, such as fires, accidents, or police chases.
  • Flying a drone while inebriated or under the influence of a drug is not recommended.
  • Drones must never be used to drop objects or materials that can cause damage to people or properties.
  • Flying a drone close to the US border is hazardous. The drone may be confiscated or damaged as a result of this.

black drone fly mexicoNew Mexico Drone Laws Over Private Property

The New Mexico drone law restricts the use of drones for unlawful monitoring by private or government groups. That means it is against the law to spy on someone in New Mexico without permission. The only exception would be for government agencies for which the requirement to collect evidence has been conferred by a court in a warrant.

The New Jersey drone legislation prohibits a drone operator from flying over another person's private property without authorization. Before flying a drone over someone's property, you must first get permission from the owners.

Similar post: How To Get A Drone License In New Jersey 

Final Thoughts

Drone operating without a license is a criminal violation punishable by a fine of up to $250,000 and three years in jail. Flying above restricted airspace can result in a punishment of up to $100,000. Before piloting a drone in New Mexico, be sure you know all of the state's regulations. You will understand where you can fly a drone this way, and you will not have to worry about getting arrested.

Also read: